# Bylaws of the International Society for the Scientific Study of Subjectivity\*

## ARTICLE I. Name, Authority, and Purpose

- Section 1. The name of this society shall be the International Society for the Scientific Study of Subjectivity (ISSSS).
- Section 2. The Society exists by the authority of the charter members.
- Section 3. The purpose of the Society is to promote the scientific study of subjectivity.
- Section 4. The headquarters for this organization shall be Columbia, Missouri.

## ARTICLE II. Membership

- Section 1. Membership in this Society is open to anyone interested in promoting the Society's purpose.
- Section 2. The membership of this Society shall be composed of those persons who pay membership dues to the Society.

# ARTICLE III. Meetings

- Section 1. An annual meeting shall be held at the time and place determined by the Executive Committee.
- Section 2. Additional meetings may be scheduled by the Executive Committee.

#### ARTICLE IV. Executive Committee

Section 1. The elected officers of the Society shall be the Chair, Vice-Chair, Secretary, and Treasurer.

<sup>\*</sup>These Bylaws were composed by Joan Aitken and initially placed before the Society at its October 1990 meeting. Following incorporation of minor changes, this final version was affirmed by mail ballot.

- Section 2. The *Chair* shall provide business leadership to the Society. The Chair shall serve a two-year term.
- Section 3. The Vice-Chair shall assist the Chair as needed, and, in cooperation with the Executive Committee, plan the annual meeting of the Society. The Vice-Chair shall serve a two-year term and shall succeed to the office of Chair.
- Section 4. The Secretary shall perform the customary duties of that office and shall be responsible for internal record keeping and communications among the members. The Secretary shall (a) prepare minutes for business meeting, (b) coordinate with the Stephenson Research Center and the Editor of Operant Subjectivity regarding sending conference summaries, announcements, and memorandums to members of the Society, and (c) channel appropriate information to other organizations, publications, and potential members.
- Section 5. The *Treasurer* shall be responsible for the financial matters of the Society.

## ARTICLE V. Nonelected Officers

- Section 1. The *Honorary Chair* shall act as consultant to the Society by providing philosophical leadership. The Honorary Chair of the organization shall be Charles Stephenson, son of the creator of Q-Methodology, William Stephenson. This position does not preclude the Honorary Chair from holding some other elective or appointed position.
- Section 2. The Editor shall be responsible for the content and publication of the journal entitled Operant Subjectivity. The Editor shall be responsible for establishing editorial and publication policies, selecting reviewers, and determining the review process. The Editor shall be appointed by and accountable to the Executive Committee.
- Section 3. The Executive Committee may, if deemed appropriate, appoint additional officers.

#### ARTICLE VI. Committees

Section 1. The Executive Committee shall be responsible for any additional functions or needs of the Society not specifically delineated in these Bylaws. The Executive Committee shall be empowered to act on behalf of the membership of the Society in emergency situations between annual meetings. Such actions may be subject to review by the membership at the next annual meeting. The Committee shall conduct business management responsibilities for the Society, including (a) setting Society dues, (b) conducting Society business, and (c) nominating officers. The Committee shall nominate at least one individual to fill each vacancy among the Officers of the Society. In all elections, additional nominations may be made from the membership of the Soci-The Committee shall be responsible for election procedures (such as notifying Society members whether elections occur by mail or during annual conference meetings, collecting and counting votes). In the event of an office becoming vacant before a term is completed, the Executive Committee shall appoint an individual to perform the duties of that office until the next annual meeting. In addition, the Executive Committee has the power to enact any temporary or permanent committees, boards, or subgroups appropriate for the organization.

Section 2. The Scholarship Committee shall be composed of the Vice-Chair, the Editor, and their appointees. The Committee shall be responsible for these and related duties: (a) selecting reviewers and reviewing programs and papers submitted for possible presentation at the annual conference, (b) presenting annual awards for such recognition as outstanding student, faculty, and/or private industry work that advances the purpose of the Society, (c) fostering grant proposals, (d) establishing procedures for effective promotion of scholarship in the field.

Section 3. All new officers and committee members shall take office by the conclusion of the annual meeting at which they

were elected or by the conclusion of the meeting closest to their election.

## ARTICLE VII. Parliamentary Authority

All meetings of the Society, its committees, or other subsidiary bodies shall be conducted by informal means, with the goal of group consensus. A member of the organization may at any time request a more formal approach in handling a particular issue or conducting an entire meeting. In either case, if a majority of those members present vote in favor of a more formal method, the body will be governed by the parliamentary rules and usages contained in the current edition of Robert's Rules of Order.

## **ARTICLE VIII.** Amendments

Section 1. Amendments to these Bylaws may be initiated by a majority of the Executive Committee or any two members of the Society.

Section 2. The membership of the Society must be notified of the proposed amendment prior to the annual meeting.

Section 3. The adoption of a proposed amendment will be automatic if no objection is raised to the amendment. Any objection must be raised within one month of the amendment notification to the membership or during the annual meeting (whichever comes first). If an objection is raised from a member of the Society to the Chair of the Society, the proposed amendment will require a two-thirds majority vote (by mail ballot or of those present and voting at the annual meeting of the Society).

#### ISSS Charter Members

Joan E. Aitken Leonard A. Barchak Jean E. Bartels Donald J. Brenner Michaela Brown Steven R. Brown

Gregory Casey Won H. Chang Melanie Clark Wilma Crumley Brian D'Agostino Karen E. Dennis Clifton C. Edom P. Kav Felkins Joanne Gallivan Deborah Gibson Irvin Goldman David M. Goldstein Paul Grosswiler Suzanne Huffman William Ingenthron Hung Kyu Kim Dennis F. Kinsey Joseph Koshansky, Jr. Eva Fishell Lichtenberg Sang Won Lim Robert A. Logan Beau A. Mauldin

Charles R. Mauldin Jennifer Mauldin Diane Montgomery Daniel N. Morris Dan Nimmo Robert A. Olins Jove Patterson Ronald L. Peck Mark N. Popovich Keith P. Sanders Averil E. Schreiber Timothy D. Stephen Charles W.T. Stephenson Maimie Stephenson Mariel Stephenson Richard Stephenson Michael Stricklin Albert D. Talbott Dan B. Thomas G. Norman Van Tubergen Jerald Washington Dwight A. Williams

Note: Other persons have since become ISSSS members, but the above-named are *charter members* by virtue of having joined the Society between the time of the October 1989 meeting, when ISSSS was formally established, and the recent vote on the Bylaws. Readers are asked to contact the Editor with corrections to the record.

### Erratum

In the October 1990 issue (p. 43), Rene V. Dawis was referred to as a female, which he is not. We regret the error.