OKLAHOMA WOMEN TRIBAL LEADER FIRSTS

Robin Hudson and R. Darcy

number of the 39 Native American tribes and nations with headquarters in Oklahoma have elected women to positions of top leadership. The following list indicates the first woman to be elected to this position within a tribe or nation and the year in which that election occurred.

Caddo: Chairwoman, LaRue Parker, 1999 Cherokee: Principal Chief, Wilma Mankiller, 1985 Citizen Potawatomi: Chairperson, Wanita Clifford, 1979 Delaware: President, Myrtle Holder, 1940s Fort Sill Apache: Chairperson, Mildred Cleghorn, 1977 Iowa: Chairwoman, Phoebe O'Dell, 2003 Kaw: Chair, Lucy Taylah-Eades, 1924 Kialegee Tribal Town: Micco-Town King, June Fixico, 1999 Miami: Chief, Judy Davis, 1989 Otoe-Missouria: Chairperson, Della Warrior, 1990 Pawnee: President, Elizabeth Blackowl, 1995 Peoria: Chief, Robbie Hedges, 2000 Ponca: Chairperson, Genevieve Pollack, 1990s Quapaw: Chairperson, Grace Goodeagle, 1994 Sac & Fox: Chief, Dora Young, 1973 Seminole: Principal Chief, Alice Brown Davis, 1922 Shawnee (Loyal Band): Chair, Pamela Chibitty, 1982 Thlopthlocco Tribal Town: Micco-Town King, Grace Bunner, 1994 Tonkawa: President, Virginia Combrink Swanson, 1994 Wichita: President, Margaret Bell, 1978



DID YOU KNOW?

In 2000, the Oklahoma counties with the highest number of Native American women residents are Tulsa, Oklahoma, Cherokee, Muskogee, and Adair. Counties with the lowest number are Cimarron, Harper, Harmon, Beaver, and Major.

Unidentified native American woman living in Payne County, ca. 1900.



Photo courtesyOklahoma State University Library