OKLAHOMA COMMISSION ON THE STATUS OF WOMEN

Jennifer Paustenbaugh and R. Darcy

In 1962, President John F. Kennedy created the President's Council on the Status of Women with Eleanor Roosevelt as its first Chair. The Council urged each state to create its own organization for looking at issues facing women. Oklahoma Governor Henry Bellmon's executive order created the Governor's Commission on the Status of Women in 1965. Each successive governor issued their own orders establishing a similar commission or committee. Membership ranged from twenty to ninety members.

The need for continuity led Claudia Tarrington, working with Governor David Walters, House Speaker Glen Johnson, Senate President Pro Tempore Bob Cullison, Senator Angela Monson, and Representative Laura Boyd to establish the Oklahoma Commission on the Status of Women as a statutory commission. In 1994, Claudia Tarrington became the first chair. She was followed by Linda Maxey, Jilda Motley, Rebecca Kennedy, Debbe Leftwich, Bernice Mitchell and current chair Patricia Presley. In 1997 Bob Darcy became the only male Commissioner.

The Legislature charged the Commission to act as an advisory entity on equity issues relating to gender bias; monitor legislation to determine whether it is discriminatory toward one gender or the other; act as a resource and a clearinghouse for research on issues related to women and gender bias; report annually to the Governor, President Pro Tempore of the Senate, and Speaker of the House of Representatives regarding its activities; and make recommendations concerning needed legislation or regulatory changes relating to equity and gender bias. The Commission consists of thirty members who serve staggered five-year terms; ten members are appointed by the Governor, ten by the President Pro Tempore, and ten by the Speaker.

All photos in this section have been provided by Commission members.

102 Notable Women/Oklahoma Commission on Status of Women



Betty Boyd Tulsa



Kipp Crutchfield Ardmore



Bob Darcy Stillwater



Marilyn Ehlers Oklahoma City



Sally Frasier Tulsa



Vicki French Foss



Catherine Haynes Ponca City



Kathryn Jones Oklahoma City



Rebecca Kennedy Seminole

Oklahoma Women's Almanac 103



Lou Kerr Oklahoma City



Denise Kinzie Cushing



Debbe Leftwich Oklahoma City



Pat Martin Purcell



Bernice Mitchell Stillwater



Angela Monson Oklahoma City



Jilda Motley Tulsa



Rita Newton Oklahoma City



Anita Norman Perry

104 Notable Women/Oklahoma Commission on Status of Women



Rowena Ogden Stilwell



Jennifer Paustenbaugh Stillwater



Patricia Presley Oklahoma City



Claudeen Reynolds Stillwater



Sheila Sheaman Ardmore



Renita Shofner Tulsa



Marlene Smith Muskogee



Margaret Swimmer Tulsa



Janelle Walker Oklahoma City

Oklahoma Women's Almanac 105



Mary Walker Tulsa



Ginny Wilson Tahlequah



Christie Woodson Lawton



DID YOU KNOW?

Claudia Tarrington was a tireless champion for the advancement of women and is credited with the legislation creating a permanent Commission on the Status of Women. During her tenure as chair the Commission established the Oklahoma Women's Hall of Fame, the Women's Summit, and coordinated passage of a law that eliminated gender bias in all future state legislation. A political consultant and government relations specialist, Tarrington also worked on women's issues at the national level. She served as the outreach director and Senate

lobbyist for the ERA Countdown Campaign, а director in the National Women's Agenda Project, and as a member of the Women's Leadership Forum of the Democratic National Committee. At her death in 2003, she was working as a lobbyist and fund raiser for Tulsa's Expo Square



Claudia Tarrington and Bob Darcy before the 1997 Oklahoma Women's Hall of Fame dinner in Tulsa.

Photo provided

OKLAHOMA COMMISSION ON THE STATUS OF WOMEN Advisory Council Active Members

Co-Chairs

Jilda Motley, Tulsa Lou Kohlman, Oklahoma City

Members

Rita Aragon, Edmond Carol Axley, Tulsa Amy Bahora, Oklahoma City Isabel Baker, Tahlequah Fern Bowling, Stillwater Laura Boyd, Norman Glenda Carlile, Oklahoma City Linda Dodson, Oklahoma City Rev. Carol Fincher. Stillwater Gloria Fletcher, Enid Kimberly Grayson, Glenpool Sallie Henderson, Tulsa Robin Hudson, Tulsa Kathy Huston, Stillwater Letitia Jackson, Tulsa Shelia Kennison, Norman Lou Kohlman, Oklahoma City Donna Lawrence, Oklahoma City Mary Anne Lewis, Tulsa Susan Marcus-Mendoza, Norman Elizabeth Martin, Tulsa Chris Morriss, Edmond Penny Painter, Tulsa Linda Parker, Oklahoma City Jeanetta Shipp, Stillwater Marcia Smith, Oklahoma City Jean Warner, Oklahoma City Gina Wendling, Oklahoma City Carolyn Whitener, Oklahoma City Correna Wilson, Wilson Esther Winterfeldt, Stillwater Sue Ann Woodward, Tulsa