Test 1

OAHPERD Honor Awards

OAHPERD Honor Award

The OAHPERD Honor Award is given to those members that demonstrate ethical practices and show prominence in one of the following areas:
1. Excellence in teaching
2. Outstanding administrative achievement
3. Contribution to research and professional publications
4. Leadership in state, district, and national associations
5. Meritorious service within the profession.

The first recipient of the OAHPERD Honor Award is Glenna Mears of Oklahoma City Public Schools. Glenna received a Bachelor of Science in Education with a major in HPERD from Central State University in 1979. After graduation, she began her professional career as a physical educator at Stand Watie Elementary School in the Oklahoma City Public Schools. In the fall of 2015, Glenna began her 36th year of teaching at the same school. At Stand Watie, she teaches Pre-K-6th grade students and also teaches adaptive physical education to 3-year olds through age 13. Glenna was honored as Stand Watie Teacher of the Year in 1992 and again in 2014.

She has been active in the Schools for Healthy Lifestyles since 1998. In OAHPERD, Glenna has served as the Metro Area Coordinator since Mark Payne was president in 1998 (17 years) and also as a member of the Jump Rope for Heart Task Force. Her school has participated in Jump Rope for Heart for 34 years. Glenna has impacted hundreds of children at Stand Watie during those 36 years. She has held Health and Safety Fairs, prepared her students for participation in the Hershey Track Meets and the Police Athletic League activities. Most recently, Glenna in partnership with the Oklahoma Boathouse Foundation has started a 4th grade after-school Rowing Club. The nominator for this nominee said that "Glenna has served OAHPERD for many years and has done meritorious service within the profession. She is also an excellent teacher". It is evident from her many achievements that Glenna certainly meets the criteria for the OAHPERD Honor Award. The award is presented by OAHPERD President, Dr. Jan Drummond.

OAHPERD Honor Award

The second Honor award recipient goes to Dana Chambers of Schools for Healthy Lifestyles. Ms. Dana Chambers is the Action Based Learning Coordinator for the Schools for Healthy Lifestyles since June 2015. Dana received a Bachelor of Science in Education with a major in Health/Physical Education from UCO in 1999. She received the National Board Certification for Early/Middle Childhood Physical Education in 2004.

Prior to her position with Schools for Healthy Lifestyles, she taught physical education at Bodine Elementary School, the Western Village Academy Charter School, and Newcastle Schools (elementary and secondary). During her tenure at Newcastle Schools, she also served as the PEP Grant Director, Middle School Volleyball Coach, and the Racer Roper Jump Rope team coach. Dana is a member of SHAPE America and OAHPERD and presents regularly at state, district, and national conventions. As an OAHEPRD member, she has served as the Chair of the Jump Rope Task Force, Council Chair of Elementary Physical Education, and Vice President of Physical Education.

She received the OAHPERD Health Teacher of the Year in 2010 and the Elementary Teacher of the Year in 2009. Dana has also given back to her profession by serving on various state-wide committees including the Strong and Healthy Oklahoma Committee and the Fit Kids Coalition. In 2005, while teaching at Western Village Academy, she was the recipient of the State Department of Education Outstanding Physical Education Program Award.

Presidential Citation Award

This award goes to Stephanie Canada-Phillips of the University of Central Oklahoma. It is presented by OAHPERD President, Dr. Jan Drummond.

OAHPERD Research Fellow Award

This award is presented to Dr. Tim Baghurst of Oklahoma State University. It is presented by OAHPERD President, Dr. Jan Drummond.


  • There are currently no refbacks.